Buncombe County Commission declares 2010 
the “Year of the Botanical Gardens”


On January 5, David Gantt, Chairman of the Buncombe County Board of Commissioners presented a proclamation declaring 2010 the “Year of the Botanical Gardens.” Marianne Coté (left) and Suzanne Wodek (middle) accepted this honor on behalf of our organization and in celebration of our 50th anniversary.  

Mayor Terry Bellamy and the Asheville City Council have also presented the Gardens with a certificate in appreciation of “50 years of community service and leadership in the field of preserving regional native plants.” We appreciate these honors and will proudly display both awards in our Visitor’s Center.


Return to:
BGA Home Page
50th Event Page

151 W.T. Weaver Boulevard, Asheville, NC 28804–3414
Phone: (828) 252–5190 · E–mail: bgardens@bellsouth.net
Contact the webmaster
©2010 Asheville Botanical Gardens